Customer Reviews

Jamie and Tanya

10/13/21

Our trip was an adventure. Just what we wanted. Fishing conditions were unfavorable but Mike found fish for us anyway! Our fortitude was tested as we fished through continuous rain showers. Fun!
Mike is knowledgeable and patient!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

The Myerson’s

October 5, 2021

The most wonderful birthday gift anyone ever gave us was a day learning and fishing with Mike.
It was a beautiful Fall day, and we kayaked to Mike’s favorite fishing spot.
With time and patience, teaching us the basics, Mike got us fly fishing (a first for both of us) in minutes.
Fishing in the beautiful, crystal clear, water of the White River, was exhilarating and Mike’s expertise almost had the fish waiting in line to be caught!
If you want to fish with an experienced teacher and guide, look no further than Mike!
You will enjoy every single minute of your day as we did. Mike is a KEEPER!


rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

STEVE Ribera

09/18/2021

Mike took my daughter and I on a trip on a Sunday. The area was beautiful and we had the time of our life. Mike did a great job making the trip a great learning experience and a whole lot of fun. He is easy to get along with and you easily trust what he is teaching you all of the time. I would highly recommend his service and yes I found a new hobby. Thanks Mike for the good time and it was even better to get to spend it with my oldest daughter.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Robert B

9-7-21

Mike wasn’t lying when he said more than fish get hooked! I cannot wait to get back out there! Mike thought of everything. A true outfitter. I took his advice and already bought the equipment he recommended. I’d recommend Mike to anyone! I want to go fishing again soon!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Leslie Brown

9/7/2021

My husband and I had the best time with Mike! He is so kind and teaches all the tricks and shares so many tips. He even showed me how to clean the fish! We left knowing what we were doing, and with dinner for the night. We are hooked on fly fishing now, and have just about got ourselves outfitted. See you on the tailwaters soon, Mike!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Bob and Raye Zielinske

Sept 20, 2021

We couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful day, the fact that the fishing was great was an added bonus. We booked this trip mainly to give my wife some experience fly casting. Mike spent a lot of time coaching her and she caught fish while she was learning. By the time we were done fishing she had the basics down and had caught numerous fish including the big fish of the day.

I thoroughly enjoyed the day. I have done lots of dry fly fishing but I was hoping to learn a little about wet fly fishing, and I did! Mike knows his stuff and whether you are a rookie or an old hand at fly fishing you will have a good time fishing with Mike.

The conditions were perfect and the trout cooperated. By the end of our time with Mike we had caught around 60 trout. Kayaking up the river and floating down to the landing just added to a beautiful time on the river.

We will fish with Mike again. If you want to sample some great trout fishing action give Mike a call. You won’t be disappointed!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Steve and Rosemary

9-19-21

Mike is an excellent teacher and guide! My dad and I had a amazing time and caught lots of fish! The area is gorgeous and the experience is top notch from start to finish. Thanks so much Mike for teaching us “green peas” how fun fly fishing is!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Joey and Claire

9/18/2021

Claire and I went out with Mike and had a wonderful experience. Mike definitely gets a 10/10!

Mike is a fantastic teacher with many years of knowledge of the techniques use, gear needed, and river knowledge. He quickly and efficiently taught the two of us to cast and the basics. We were fishing in no time. We were immediately catching fish.

Mike will completely outfit you to where all you need to bring is the warm clothes the recommends and yourself, so you can get out and just focus on fishing.
I highly recommend Mike!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Randy

8/10/2021

Let me just say that this group will never be the same after this AMAZING experience with Mike!!!

We have a large family and we were visiting the beautiful Eureka Springs área to see our daughter perform at the Center Stage Theater with Young Americans.

I was looking for some fun activities to do on our visit and I came across Mike and his Fly Fishing experience. We called and it seemed like it wasn’t going to work at first because of the large size of our group.
Mike and I talked through all of the options and he kept finding ways to figure the situation out. He planned to bring an extremely talented assistant (Dannie) and work in groups to ensure a great time to be had by all. Then, sad news came that we had to cancel because of the generation schedule that he had no control over. We were so heartbroken especially after talking to Mike and just feeling what a great guy he would be to learn from. Over the next few days, Mike kept on top of the scheduling and we worked out a new day to go! Adventure was back on ;-) Mike saved the day!

When we arrived at the dock (a short beautiful drive), we were taken with the beauty of the area. Mike had already planned ahead and set up each of the kayaks. He even made special exception for me needing a more sturdy kayak passage to the spot.

We took a gorgeous ride in the cool crisp morning with each of us commenting things along the lines of “this is the life”... and it truly was. Mike explained many things along the way and we were there before we knew it. He and Dannie pulled us ashore and got us all set with high end gear.

Mind you, NONE of us had been fly fishing before. Not to jump too far ahead but by the end everyone was casting and smiling and having a blast.

The size of our group sometimes makes experiences difficult but not for Mike. He, along with his masterful assistant, took each person individually and taught them the skills to be up and fishing in no time. They are all different but he and Dannie catered to them individually finding a way to make them comfortable and to truly learn. It wasn’t long before the bites were coming and they were learning the unique ways to bring in the catch. My son especially enjoyed this as it made it such joy for him. Mike encouraged him to keep going and make it an experience rather than just hurry and reel it in. His smile told the story.

For me as the father, it was such a joy to see my children, their significant others and even my brother-in-law and nephews enjoying this to the fullest. I’m sure we drove them crazy but their patience and true love of Fly-fishing were strong and overcame everything to make it fantastic!

Once we had all enjoyed, the timing couldn’t have been more perfect (masterfully planned by Mike) and the river began to flow quickly as they surged the water. Back to the kayaks. They packed it all up for us!

What happened next wasn’t the same as amazing fishing but was a true treat in itself. We were floated down with the current behind us making it like a ride and barely in need of paddling. We laughed and enjoyed the trip. Mike and Dannie went ahead and exited early so they could drive down and pick us up at the end of the run. FULL SERVICE!!! They even cleaned out fish to take back and grill up which we did... delicious ;-P

And when I say full service, I don’t say that lightly. From setting us up at the beginning with TOP OF THE LINE gear (waders, poles, everything) to the clean up at the end and a lunch made by Mike (or maybe his lovely wife!). We were so well taken care of!

Since it was the end of our trip, we didn’t have time to book another time with him but if we had the days, we definitely would have. And mark my words, next time we visit Arkansas and Eureka Springs, we will be calling him up to make the magic happen again. Even in the long airport wait, this experience came up in conversation as an absolute highlight!!!

It may seem that I’m over-exaggerating how great this was. I assure you, I am not.

You would be remiss to not book a time with Mike. Just do it, you won’t regret it!!!

Randy Wilkerson and family

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Mike Baker

9/2/21

Frankly my past experiences with guides aren’t really all that positive but that changed last week with I fished with Mike! It didn’t feel like I was fishing with a guide but with a good friend who was all about me having a great fishing experience! I’ve been a little out of practice with my fly fishing but Mike’s instruction and tips got me up to speed and now I’m excited to fly fish regularly again! It was a whole different experience with traveling to the fishing spots (that Mike knows well) in a Kayak and then wade fishing ! I don’t usually count fish but I got to say that this was the most productive fishing trip I’ve ever been on and you would be jealous if I told you the number! This trip was all about me and my experience instead of adhering the guides personal agenda! If you are looking for a great fishing experience in a beautiful environment with someone who genuinely cares about your experience then call Mike “the fly guy”! I can’t wait to go again!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Marcus & Tabitha

8/23/21

If you're looking for a great experience, there's none like this. From the first phone call until we departed for the day, Mike was first class. So much fun, attention to detail, and goes out of his way to make sure everything is enjoyable. I booked this trip for my husband for our anniversary and didn't intend to participate but so glad I did. Mike made sure I was comfortable and enjoyed the trip too! Highly recommend :)

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

John Cash

July 26,2021

As we paddled our Kayaks down the misty river early in the morning, another fisherman shouted out from his kayak" You have the best Fly fishing guide on the river"! Mike the Fly Guy soon proved all of that to be true. My wife had never fly fished before. Mike gave her a great introduction and had her casting the fly rod in a short while. Soon she hooked into a trout but it shook the hook from its mouth. She was thrilled.
Mike has one of the greatest senses of customer service I have seen in a person. His ability to get along with and understand the needs of his customers is unmatched. He is very knowledge about his "Home Water".
In choosing Mike as your guide you are guaranteed a professional fishing day.
My wife and I still reminisce about kayaking down the cool misty river through the mist and seeing Great Blue Herons, Eagles , deer and trout rising to a new hatch of flies.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Robert Baxter

7/10/2021

My family had an incredibly fun experience fishing with Mike. He had his hands full with 6 of us n day one. The short kayak trip up the beautiful river was incredible. Beautiful can’t describe it! He took my wife, who never fished before, and taught her how to fly fish. She caught the biggest one of the day! We landed 64 rainbow trout in less than 4 hours! Could not have been better! We were well taken care of! We will do this again and again! 5 stars is not enough!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Elizabeth Carol Wicker

July 13, 2021

I am now in love with a new way of fishing! Mike and his new side kick, Bryan, taught us all the right fly fishing moves in the right fishing spot!
Started our day paddling the kayaks down the river in the mist of the morning, it was a heavenly mountain/river scene you cannot miss. We enjoyed our trip so much, freinds for life, laughter, lots of fish and fellowship..We will do it again soon.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Jeremy & Lisa

June 23, 2021

How was our trip??? AMAZING!!! We are now “professional” fly fisherman /woman :).
We will never fish with ANY other guy other than Mike. Geez, he took care of all aspects. From poles, to flys, to kayaks, to waders, to wool socks, to boots, to Gatorade, to a honey bun snack, to a freakin good time! We caught OVER 25 rainbow trout, released every single one, but they will be waiting for us next time. Mike, you are the BEST! THANKYOU for postponing YOUR trip to make us have an ANNIVERSARY we WONT EVER forget! Big hugs to you! And happy anniversary to your sweet wife, 3 days later than ours. I told her I was sorry, but not really sorry for the postponement of your Maine experience. Mike, you are the man! Can’t wait to visit you again! Xoxo

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Thesha and Corey

March 6, 2021

We are newbies to this but I can say we really enjoyed fly fishing with Mr. Mike. He has a lot of patience and very well educated about fly fishing. I like that he made us feel comfortable and at ease while teaching us. I would recommend Mr. Mike over any guide that I have ever used. He is the best!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Glenn Steen and Chips Black

12-26-20

Super trip!! Caught several trout and made one new flyfisherman. Chips got hooked and Glenn already was. Mike's service is fabulous.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Gilbert L

11/1/2020

My wife booked me a half day trip with Mike. He called me a few days before the trip to plan out the day around the generation schedule. He gave me a ton of information before I had even left for Arkansas. Mike let me know that he had everything ready and that I wouldn’t need to take anything. The day started off with an easy paddle on a kayak down river to a couple of fishing spots. The water was crystal clear, in chest deep water I could still see the tops of my wading boots. Mike gave me a couple of pointers on my cast before we started and then said “Cast out between that tree and boulder”. First cast, caught a fish! The colors on that rainbow trout were a sight. “I am hooked!”, I thought to myself. 20-25 fish, great conversation, and a few hours later my shoulder was sore, but my spirit was full! It was such a great day and something that I will remember for ever. You will not regret spending a day with Mike the Fly Guy.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Gilberto Lopez

11/01/2020

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Blair T

11/20/20

I had a great time on the water with Mike. He put me on fish (20 or so!), helped me correct some errors I was making, and we had great conversations.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Mike and Chiquita

November 5, 2020

Our trip was amazing. Mike showed up on time. He fitted us with our gear. We kayak to our spot. This was my (Chiquita) first time ever doing anything like this and he was so patient with me. I even caught 4 fish all by myself. Will will be coming back. Thanks Mike!!!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Tom Anderson

November 1, 2020

Mike calls himself a fly fishing guide but he's really waymore than that. He's more like a Beaver Lake tailwater fly fishing concierge.

A service-oriented gentleman, a friendly people person, Mike delievers five star service and he isthe real deal. He walked me through getting to Beaver Dam from Kansas City. Called me along the way. Set me up with a suite cabin on the river. Gave me a wake-up call. Told me where to catch a good dinner and where to gas up. Help me fish another local stream and gave me tips for that. Told me where I could grab a quick breakfast. What is on time. Has a smile and personality bigger than Beaver Lake. My party and I from the basics to the complex. The photo below says it all. Beautiful day in every way.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Chasity Gibson

10/12/20

Every time I visit ES, I connect with Mike and do some fishing. It is always the highlight of my trip! You will not find a better guide, especially for the experiences you'll gain. He has the best gear, knows the best local spots, and has extreme patience. His jokes aren't too bad either ;) Whether you're a seasoned veteran with some bad habits or a newbie who's never held a pole, you'll love fishing with Mike and his crew. It's like fishing with your favorite uncle or grandpa, you just don't want the day to end. See you soon, Mike!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Keith

October 8

You may think all of these glowing reviews are not real, but I assure you, after our wonderful experience with Mike Foley and his able assistant Michael, it is all REAL and TRUE!!! Mike is all about making sure his clients learn a skill they perhaps never have tried and that they have a great time doing it! He is a man on a mission with a smile and kind word. You will feel very comfortable with his style of instruction. He will take you to the perfect spot, and once you launch that fly and it lands, WOW!!! We all had a fabulous time, Mike! THANKS!!!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Brett

10/17/2020

Thank you to Mike and my guide du jour Michael for an excellent fishing experience. With Michael’s help I was able to land a bunch of fish, including one “river hog”. In addition to putting me in the right location Michael gave me just the right amount of instruction and encouragement

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Thomas

10-9-20

Mike is a great guide to go fishing with. I can tell you that I had great day fishing and learning how to fly fish. Mike was very helpful and encouraging while working with me on my fly cast. We caught fish and the location plus the weather was outstanding. I will be back to fish with Mike again. Believe me you will have a great time and make a new friend.

Thanks Mike

Thomas

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Dennis & Sheila Rogers

Sept 28, 2020

My wife and I just spent a FANTASTIC day fly fishing the White River with Mikes guidance. It started with a beautiful and easy short kayak trip up-river to Mikes special spot. It was the second or third cast Sheila caught the rainbow trout you see in the picture. Unfortunately, due to some unannounced rock wall construction a short distance up-river, the water became muddy rather quickly so Mike made the decision to move up-river from the construction. That’s were I had the chance to practice my skills and Sheila got a few hours of one on one instruction. By the time we quit fishing we were pleasantly tired, a little cold from standing in the water and feeling great after an excellent day in one of the prettiest areas of Arkansas I’ve ever been. And, having become a new friend with Mike, easy to do cause he is just such a nice guy, we said goodbye and thank you. I hope and plan to fish with him again soon.
And that is why I am writing this review. It was by chance I found Mikes Guide Service and I couldn’t be happier. He knows what he is doing, has all the stuff you need, his fees are very reasonable and he is just plain a nice guy. I could not recommend him anymore then I am now.
So if your looking for a quite to fly fish the White River in the Eureka Springs area, or Spider Creek, no need to look any further. MIKE IS YOUR MAN!

Good luck and tight lines

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Natalie Fletcher

09/09/20

Can a person be a destination? I think so! We planned our trip to Northwest Arkansas just so we could fish with Mike! We’re repeat customers! He’s more than a great guide bringing you all the supplies that you need, teaching you good fly fishing techniques, and taking you to the best spots; he’s a great person and friend. So come to the river! Step right in and be renewed. That is how it is with me! I come tired, worn out and overwhelmed. But I find conversations with Mike are so uplifting and positive! Standing waist high in the flow of the river, I can feel all my cares washing away.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Monte and Lori

9-15-2020

Awesome! We couldn’t have asked for a better trip... Mike made the whole experience a forever memory and the best learning experience we could have encountered. Very meticulous attention to teaching first timers… We caught a passel of fish, released many and those we kept Mike cleaned for us… He provided top quality equipment and gear… it was like being out with a family member with Mike.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Ty Lindsey

9/20/20

This trip was nothing short of fantastic!
We spent two days of kayaking and fishing with Mike and Michael.
Let me tell you , they surely delivered!
Our guides enthusiasm, was contagious.
Simply put we caught fish!
Mike’s guide service is top shelf!
Many thanks!
Ty

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Dale Brunswick

9/16/2020


We had an amazing time kayaking and fly fishing on the White River with Mike. Definitely an art to fly fishing. 10 o clock will be engrained in my mind. Interesting on how the wind and the ripple lead to a fishing frenzy vs placid waters.

I would highly recommend Mike's guide service as we look forward to doing again.

Thanks ,

Dale

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Bill Moulden

9/14/20

Ever get that feeling when you first meet someone but seems like you are old friends? That's what it is like fishing with Mike. My dad and I were looking to make some memories and this trip was one of the best we ever made. The fish you see in the pictures are just two out of a ton that was caught that day. Mike is an incredible guide and fishing coach and served as the cure to our string of fishless outings. I am especially grateful for the way he equipped my dad with the skills to not only catch fish that day but for the rest of his life.

Mike, thank you for making us feel like old friends, and thank you for providing all the extras it took to make this a memory that my Father and I will always cherish.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Kevin May

9/20/20-9/22/20

Mike and Michael could not have been more patient and accomodating. Mike put us in allthe right spots and with the right flys and gear that made the experience truly enjoyable.
I really appreciate Mikes conservation mindedness and respect for the waters and the future fishing.
Two days was not enough and im already planning to head back
Thank you Mike for a great time
See ya soon i hope!
K

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Jack

9/13/20-9/15/20

This was a "Bucket List" trip for me. Although I've been an avid saltwater fisherman, I always dreamed of learning to fly fish. Mike made this a trip of a lifetime. He was a fantastic instructor, supplied top quality gear, and had vast knowledge of both the river and the fish that we were seeking to catch. Within 30 minutes of arriving at the river I had netted my first Rainbow Trout. He has great patience and took many tangles out of my line always encouraging me and making me feel that I kept progressing in my fly casting. He has a way of making you feel not like a client but a friend. I actually spent 3 days fishing with him and we caught as many as 55 rainbows one day and averaged over 40 per day. Needless to say I would recommend Mike to both experienced fly fisherman as well as newbies like myself. You will enjoy your experience immensely. I will be booking Mike again for sure!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Erick

8/22/20

Had a wonderful time. As a first timer it was great to have the access of a total outfitter allowing me to have to simply have to show up with all equipment waiting. Although I could have gone with another person I went solo for the solitude and the location could not have been better. Paddled a short way through the fog to our entry location and was able to enjoy the escape.
I have heard some negative reviews on other outfitters and can say I had a fabulous experience with Mike and my children keep asking when I will catch more fish for dinner!

If I make it back to AR will definitely schedule another trip with Mike.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Ashley & Devin

August 22, 2020

It was our first time fly fishing and we are hooked! Mike was the best guide. Very patient and gave the perfect instructions/cues. As promised, we were catching beautiful trout in the first hour. I can’t say enough how wonderful our experience with Mike was. We will definitely be back!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Brian & Maggie

August 3,4, 2020

My wife and I are 58 years young and have never Fly Fished in our lives! Mike is such a patient and meticulous teacher that we caught on in no time! It was the trip of a lifetime. The scenery was breathtaking and the fishing was beyond compare! We will most likely book every year and maybe more than once a year! Thank you Mike for your patience and Blessing us with an amazing few days!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

CHARLOTTE

AUGUST,14,2020

MY TRIP WAS AMAZING!!! I RECEIVED A CALL FROM A MAN FRIDAY MORNING ASKING IF I WAS " AUNT CHARLOTTE", I SAID YES AND HE EXPLAINED THAT MY SWEET NIECE FROM HOUSTON AND HER FAMILY HAD BEEN FLY FISHING WITH HIM AND SHE HAD ASK HIM IF HE COULD GET SOME FISH FOR HER "AUNT CHARLOTTE" MY TRIP WAS TO ROGERS AT NOON THAT DAY WHERE HE MET ME WITH THE BEAUTIFUL FRESHLY CAUGHT TROUT !!!!

I HAD NEVER MET MIKE BEFORE, BUT AFTER VISITING WITH HIM ABOUT TEN MINUTES I FELT LIKE I HAD KNOWN HIM A LONG TIME. HE WAS SO KIND, THOUGHTFUL AND VERY GENEROUS TO GIVE ME SO MANY TROUT. DUE TO HIS GENEROSITY SOME OF MY FRIENDS AND I HAD A FABULOUS TROUT DINNER SATURDAY NIGHT, THE BEST EVER SINCE IT WAS SO FRESH!!!!
I PLAN TO GO FLY FISHING IN EARLY OCTOBER WITH SOME FRIENDS AND MIKE WILL CERTAINLY BE OUR GUIDE!!!!!. HE PROMISED ME I WOULDN'T DROWN!!! I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO GOING AND BEING OUT IN THE BEAUTIFUL OZARKS AND CATCHING LOTS OF FISH, IT WILL BE A FUN AND GREAT EXPERIENCE FOR ME.





'

'

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Brent C.

8-7-2020

The weather was less than stellar but it was a great day fishing with Mike. We got into a mess of trout from the start and pulled a few "river donkeys" out of the water. Fishing with Mike, is like fishing with your favorite buddy! He was a joy to be around and is good at putting you on the fish! Booking another trip so my wife can learn the sport!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Sharyn Short

July 27, 2020

My family had an incredible experience fly fishing with Mike the Fly Guy! It was the first time my husband, my two daughters and I had fly fished and Mike made it easy and fun! All together, the four of us caught 9 Rainbow Trout! Mike cleaned them for us and we ate them that same night they were caught. Mike is funny, smart, and he knows where to find the fish! He prepared the entire day for us....where to get our fishing licenses, the kayaks, the waders, the poles, lines, the flies, the best time to fish in the river, he also prepared a delicious lunch of trout sandwiches that he brought for us to enjoy right by the river. Truly a fantastic experience that we will always remember!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Aaron T

8-7-20

Had a great morning with Mike!
In spite of the rain, we caught over 20 rainbow a piece!
Mike is a good man and definitely knows how to put fish in front of your fly!
Thank ya sir!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Edward H

8/5-8/6/2020

Mike did such an awesome job guiding us on our trip. It could not have been any smoother. Out of 6 of us, I was the only one to have been fly fishing before. My wife and her daughter plus me and the boys all caught multiple trout. Mike's helper on the trip, Michael, was also excellent. We are already planning next trip. Just such a treat for everyone. All the gear was top notch, including the waders. Mike allowed me to test different rods and explained each one of them to me. Definitely worth the trip! Thank you Mike!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Cody & Macy Clark

7/4/2020

Mike was great! I called him on a Saturday inquiring about a possible fishing trip for the upcoming week. Initially, he said that he fully booked and unable to accommodate, but thinking outside of the box Mike was able to accommodate us, setting us up with his assistant. We absolutely had a great time. We caught 15 rainbows. Just an absolute blast. Thanx again Mike!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Nick Lawrence

07/26/2020

My second trip with Mike, and caught fish until my arms were tired. Had my friend Fred and I on fish almost immediately. Nice trout sandwich for lunch was a nice extra. My wife hooked me up with Mike as a gift and now I consider him my friend. Super laid back and very helpful!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Fred Fontana

7/26/2020

It was my 1st fly fishing trip & Mike was very good at teaching this old dog new tricks. He never made me feel stupid & had me catching trout until I had to tap out at the end of the day with my limit. He is funny & really cares about his customers. It was my. best guided fishing trip Ever in AR.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Brad

7.24.20

If you want to have a great time and learn to fly fish...call Mike. Our daughter booked this trip for our 40th anniversary. What a great adventure...15 fish ...great company and beautiful setting

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Nick Lawrence

04/21/2020

My wife and I recently bought a cabin in the area. I was not familiar with the White River in the area around Beaver Lake. My wife found Mike while researching guides in the area and purchased a trip for me as a birthday gift. I spoke with Mike prior to our trip and explained that I was interested in learning where to fish on the White River while enjoying a day of fishing.
Upon meeting for the trip, I was pleased to find Mike as a very laid back person with much knowledge of the area and fly fishing. I look forward to fishing with him again. Over exceeded my expectations!!! Thanks Mike, see you again soon!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Amanda & Brad Terrel

03/01/2020

We did a couples fly fishing trip with Mike the Fly Guy & it was the highlight of our trip. Mike is simply amazing! What he delivers is an easy & fun experience that creates memories. If there is something you might need, Mike has thought about it - from the gear, to our new ball caps, hand warmers, insisting you leave the phones & cameras in the car & taking pictures for you- to providing amazing trout sandwiches to enjoy while he cleans the fish- it is a one of a kind experience. His passion & energy for fishing is evident in his ability to take someone with little to no knowledge of fly fishing & have them casting & catching in no time. His fun humor makes the trip even more worthwhile!
We will see you again Mike & I will talk Brad into keeping his duck waders at home :)

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Karen B.

September 2019

I love Mike! I have been out with Mike twice, and in September I spent an entire week fishing with him. This was a great experience and a ton of fun. Mike is a great guide and a skilled instructor. It doesn't matter your skill level, just be open and willing and Mike will do the rest. I had always wanted to go on an "all fishing" vacation and finally got to do it. Even if I was not fishing, I would stop by and visit with Mike - I love this guy! Do yourself a favor and spend a day with him, I promise you will not be disappointed.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Jade Stone

October 2019

I fished with Mike this weekend and he's knowledgeable, funny, and can make anyone (with a willingness to learn and listen) into a successful fly fisher! The waters in that area are absolutely incredible! Mike took care of everything (gear, boats, lunch, etc.) and never lost patience! Use him to guide you on an experience you'll never forget!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Gary Karnes

September 29, 2019

My son, Jordan, gave me this trip for my 70th birthday. I love to fish, but had never attempted fly fishing, nor had Jordan. Within a very short time, Mike had us casting and catching. What I was impressed with was the individual attention he gave to each of us, along with some constructive criticism and pats on the back when warranted. You'll love Mike's personality and when you leave his company, you'll know that you've been with a true professional. So, thanks Mike and thanks Jordan for a memorable day of fishing.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Chris Gardner

10/19/2019

Mike is great! He teaches in short-order and can have anyone fly fishing in under an hour. Very skilled, kind, patient, and knowledgeable. If you want to catch rainbows, it doesn't get any better than Mike's Tailwater Fishing!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Tommy Ferguson

Oct 3, 2019

I had a great time! Mike is 200%. He's passionate about helping people learn and get the fish. Mike is patient and very professional with his clients. He treats you as a good friend. He helped me break some old bad habits, as i had not fly fished in 30 plus years. He worked with me and was quick in doing so. I caught and released many trout. I went on a solo guide trip with Mike as I wanted criticism and help. He was great. I will recommend him to any and everyone.

THANKS MIKE

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Dustin

Oct 9, 2019

Mike was very knowledgeable and patient. I had recently learned to cast a fly rod and wanted to catch some fish. I was able to hone my cast and hook set on this trip. I lost count, but mike said I had landed about 35-40 fish. I was a great trip on a beautiful waterway.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Ricky & Shirlene

Sept 30, 2019

We had an excellent fishing experience with Mike! He had all the equipment we needed, and he was patient with us as we gained confidence and pulled in fish after fish. We really enjoyed our time on the river with Mike!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Bob Moore

Sept 20, 2019

9-20-19 My son David and Grandson Avery and I enjoyed a wonderful day of trout fishing on the White River below Beaver love Lake. We were celebrating his 16th birthday.
Our guides for the day were Mike Foley and John Rosson with Mike’s Fly Fishing Guide Service. These guys are very professional and knowledgeable fishermen. They put us on a honey hole and the rainbows were really hungry. Both worked with my guys to get them up to speed and had them fly fishing in less than an hour. We all had a fantastic time and I recommend Mike’s Fly Fishing Guide Service wanting time go fly fishing or learn how to fly fish for rainbows.
Bob Moore. Magnolia, Arkansas

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Brian Long

Aug 26, 2019

Amazing time on Beaver Dam with Mike. I had never fly fished before and he made me a fly fisherman. One of the best experiences of my life. My dad, brother, and I highly recommend Mike and his expertise. We will be back for sure. Thanks so much Mike for making it fun for us.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

David

Aug 23, 2019

What a great fishing experience. Mike does a great job. He began teaching in the parking lot in the dark and drizzle and continued until we left.
Don’t read his disclosure as we began at 6 am and caught more fish than you can imagine. The weather was miserable, the fishing was great, the experience was unforgettable.
Thanks Mike

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

damron2013

Aug 23, 2019

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Coy

Aug 17, 2019

Great trip. Mike is a skilled teacher and has superior knowledge of the water and its fish. My wife, teenage daughter and I joined Mike this morning. Everyone caught fish and had a good family time. From beginners to the more experienced, Mike makes fly-fishing fun.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Jared

Aug 13, 2019

Great guide and a great experience!! Mike and John were amazing teachers they took four of us out two weekends ago, we all four had no experience at fly fishing or trout fishing they had us casting and on the fish just like he said literally at the exact time the fish started to bite. We are looking to go back again in October to learn some more form this great guide service.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Megan

Aug 5, 2019

Absolutely wonderful! We went as a group of 4 as beginner fly fisherman. To say we were nervous and grossly inexperienced is an understatement, however, by the end of the day everyone in our group had caught at least a handful of trout and a new appreciation for fly fishing. Mike and John were awesome. Each had their own tips and tricks that only helped further our experience and excitement for the sport. They provided everything from waders, boots and rods to great conversation and kayaks to get us to the best spot. We all got one on one instruction as well as well as group instruction. We loved our trip and will defiantly be doing it again. Highly recommend Mike as a guide! Thank you! We had a blast!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Randy and Peggy

July 4, 2019

Thank goodness we chose to try this on our way home from vacation. It was the highlight of our trip. No one could have been a better guide than Mike was. Not only was he very patient and very very knowledgeable but determined that we caught some fish. He was more excited than we were to see us catch them. His kindness and his humor made this the best day ever! With Mike it wasn’t about money it was about having the experience of a lifetime. Highly recommended for anyone who would love to learn fly fishing. Thank you Mike for a wonderful day. We will definitely be back!!!!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Tony and Theresa

June 20, 2019

My wife and I went fishing with Mike for two days and had a blast! I don't know how many fish we caught because we caught so many we lost count - that's a sign of a great day of fishing! Mike was very patient with my novice wife and got her to the point of catching her own fish. Had a great time with a great guy. Thanks Mike!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

June 17, 2019

Jeff Rice

What a great day! My son and I recently moved to the area and wanted to learn about fly fishing. After a few calls and several Google searches I came across Mike's site and decided to give him a call. Right away I could tell this guy was passionate about fly fishing. I also discovered that he was equally passionate (perhaps even more so) about teaching others to fly fish. So we scheduled our trip for Saturday morning. I gave him advance notice that our group of four was diverse in skills, age (oldest 60 and youngest 19) and gender.

All four of us caught a lot of Rainbow and a few Brown Trout while Mike continued to help us hone our technique. Keep in mind that for half of our group fishing meaning going to the grocery store. The other two had some Bass fishing experience. Mike was masterful in his approach making sure he was getting through to each of us despite our varying skill levels. He was unbelievably patient and encouraging. I also think he was quick to recognize that some of us are audible-learners while others are more visual learners.

Prior to this day I didn't really care for fishing. It just wasn't my thing. I was doing this more for the others in the group. However, by the time we were done I was hooked (sorry for the cheap pun). Seriously, I didn't want to leave. Having learned much of the basics, catching several fish, standing in the pristine water, watching two bald eagles and two blue herons soaring, having Mike untangle my line every 3 minutes or so.... I could go on and on, but you get the picture. It was a very memorable day and I can't wait to go again. I can promise you two things: It will be soon and it will be with Mike. He's an amazing guide and a kind gentleman. His passion is contagious and his commitment to customer satisfaction is second to none.

Regardless of skill level, if you're looking for a fly fishing guide I unequivocally recommend Mike. If nothing else, give him a call before deciding on a guide and you'll immediately see what I mean.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Elizabeth

June 14, 2019

We had so much fun on the river today! Mike was so patient and encouraging. Once he showed us the basics, he let us practice at our own pace, and then checked up on us to offer tips. His equipment was in great condition, and he even provided us a lunch, which was such a thoughtful gesture. This was a great experience, and I really recommend it!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Danny Edsall

June 13, 2019

We took a trip with Mike a few days ago and couldn’t have been happier with the the trip. There were four of us - two newbies (including myself) and and two more experienced fishermen. Mike was awesome. Friendly, patient, knowledgable and good fun to be with.
He got us fully kitted out, showed us how to Kayak to the best spot and gave us some patient and helpful instructions.
He told us exactly what it would take to catch fish, down to the strength and direction of the breeze over the water.The location is amazingly beautiful, with herons, deer and turkey buzzards hovering overhead. Personally I would have been happy to even see a fish.

But did we ever catch fish...... beautiful rainbow trout and brown trout. We caught our limit. Even the more experienced among us benefitted from Mike’s detailed local knowledge. Overall an unforgettable experience and worth every penny.
Mike even gutted / prepped them for us and we had an amazing dinner that night.

Mike is a great, full service guide - and I’d recommend him to anyone. Thanks Mike!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Gary Riegel

June 8, 2019

Mike was outstanding. Mike took my friend and I to the river below the dam. He took us to the right spot and I caught fish. He gave me pointers that helped me not only catch fish but how to control them so they do not get away. I would definitely recommend Mike’s services to anyone.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Anonymous

June 2, 2019

Had so much fun with Mike. Highly recommend fly fishing with this guy! Mike definitely goes above and beyond. He even mentioned cleaning some fish we caught for us.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Adam

May 26, 2019

I had an absolute blast. Kinda stinks because of the generator schedule, but mike ensured we caught fish and had fun! He also taught me how to fly fish well enough that I came home and caught bass on a fly rod! Needless to say Mike is the real deal we caught plenty of fish before the generators turned on and he had a great price. All around great guy and great at what he does.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Bob Large, Jacksonville, IL

Apr 28, 2019

My son and grandsons wanted a fly fishing experience in the Fayetteville /Rogers Arkansas area. We found Mike's website and called him.
We found Mike to be very encouraging and willing to take on 4 fellas with varying fly fishing skill levels. We could not be more pleased with Mike's personality and ability to help all of us. His prime objective was for us to have a good time and we did. If you want to fly fish, you won't regret a day with Mike. Thanks Mike, see you next year if not before.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Brook Golwas

Apr 26, 2019

So much fun, Mike. Thank you for being such an amazing teacher!!! And you have the patience of a Saint!! We've already told our friends about you - Hoping they call and schedule with you. Thanks again for a fun day! We will be back and when we come back we want to go out with you again!!!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Anonymous

Apr 15, 2019

Mike is an outstanding guide. I've been on guided trips all over the country and Mike is one of the best guides I've ever had. I went with my dad and brother and it was an amazing day - between the 3 of us we probably caught over 100 trout. Mike made sure we learned a ton and was great with our variety of experience levels. Hands down the best fly guide in NWA.

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Anonymous

March 23, 2019

Mike got us on the fish early and often. It is amazing the difference fishing with the right gear and with a guy like Mike who know how to teach you to use it. I would highly recommend Mike's services!
March 27, 2017

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Alan & Michael

Mar 23, 2019

My son and I met Mike this last Friday while fishing Riverview Camping Area on Beaver Tailwaters. He graciously gave us a couple of his Olive Colored Flies (bead head jigs) and told us that if we didn’t catch a trout within 5 minutes, we could go back to what we were fishing with. He also informed us that we were fishing our flies to shallow and needed to fish much deeper beneath our strike indicator (showing us his rig). The advice he gave us allowed us to catch trout all weekend, again, thank you Mike for taking time to guide us in the right direction. And yes, both of us took a nice trout each in the first 5 minutes........ Alan & Michael
November 16, 2017

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Natalie Fletcher

Dec 31, 2018

I searched around a little bit before finding Mike. The others all had a pre-planned program/agenda and if your square peg doesn’t fit their round hole, then they will decline. I wanted to bring my dog on the trip and I did not want to be limited to the confines of a boat. Mike is experienced, prepared, and capable besides being a good teacher. He brought the kayaks, the waders, the fly fishing equipment, drinks and trout sandwiches! He was very kind and attentive to all of us including my Dog! She wasn’t something to be tolerated, but a valued guest just like the rest of us. Mike led us as we paddled the serene stream down to our fishing spot. It looked just like the movie, “A River Runs Through It” with the stream zigzagging away into the fall foliage. The water was crystal clear and my Dog was so excited to see the trout. She was clearly thinking about how to catch one. And they were biting pretty good throughout the day. We were there at the peak of the fall foliage and there wasn’t a cloud in the sky! It was picture postcard perfect day! Thank you Mike!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Rex Branstetter

Oct 28, 2018

Mike, thanks so much for the great day of fly fishing! I really appreciated your patience and encouragement in teaching my wife and kids how to use the fly rod. We had a great day on the Tailwater with you, and we found out you were an author too! Thanks again...,Rex for the Branstetter Bunch

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Anonymous

Apr 11, 2018

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png

Jentrie

Apr 11, 2018


​We had a blast, thank you very much and next time we are in eureka we will definitely be giving you a call! Thank you!

rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png
rainbow trout.png